Sunday June 12, 2016

IMG_1696

On Saturday June 11, 2016 – I discovered hazard cones and caution tape all around my painting spot. I could see that work had been done repairing a big crack in the cement that I imagine must have been caused by the constant pounding of waves. I moved the first cone and set up my easels, careful not to go near the crack full of new cement. When I finished for the day, I put the cone back and retied the caution tape as I had found it.

IMG_1697

2:30 PM, Sunday June 12, 2016

On Sunday June 12, 2016 – I was glad to see that the repair work had been completed and the painting spot was hazard cone and caution tape free. I put out the paint and a crowd started to gather. A little girl wearing a pretty pink Sunday dress was looking at my palette as I was adjusting the far anchor rope and then she stuck her finger in the Courbet Green. She looked at the dark green paint on her finger and before I could say or do anything, wiped her finger clean on her dress. It left a long mark. Her mom pulled her away seeming not to mind much. A little later a little boy came rolling up on his scooter and asked, “Are you a famous artist?” I answered, “I am an artist but I’m not famous.” And he responded, “Well, I think you should be famous!”

IMG_1701

7:30 PM, Sunday June 12, 2016

Today I focused on trees and buildings under the Brooklyn Bridge.

IMG_1681

10:00 PM, Saturday June 11, 2016

From the river in Lower Manhattan to my friend Kym’s bathroom in Bedstuy Brooklyn. This is where Kym and I will be spending our Saturday nights for the foreseeable future. I’m excited about starting a life-scale painting of Kym in the bath. My first painting in the long tradition of “Bathers” paintings. The big challenge will be that we’re working in such a small space.

Leave a Reply

